• Hi everybody,

I try to have a fat bass like in the DnB song but someting is missing and it doesn't sounds like i want ?
    I use 2 OSC Saw, an external distortion with a notch EQ, some chorus and a modulation on the Cut off, can someone help me ?

Thanks.

• Any chance you can give us a demo of what you have done so far then I might be able to help with where you are going wrong.

I have come pretty close with using the hyper saw but not set too high and a bit of de tuning and a standard saw wave then the wide distortion setting and also adding a bit of filter saturation you have to fiddle around with it a bit to find the sweet spot but for me filter saturation is definatly a big part. also dip the mid down a bit again just sweep around till it fits and then do a sub bass on a separate channel.

I don't know if this helps much I'm no expert but this is a way I have reasonable success with :thumbup:

• Just make sure Osc 2 is at maximum detune [this is the one vital step that makes a reece sound like a reece]. I like to run a lowpass filter into a highpass filter to get some nice sweeps happening. [hoover style :) ]

Distortion is a must. Don't know what the point of your "notch EQ" is, save EQ for the mixdown [you'll save DSP on the Virus too!].

As stated above - add a sub-bass [sine wave works well IMO] and you should be rocking!

There are around about 124,000,001 posts on the net about this, get searching!!!

• I've gotten some absolutely filthy post-Reece sounds at my Virus TI with a minimum of effort

Be sure to play around with the analog character and the new overdrive modes, also the classic filters saturation can be fun too

I don't like setting detune all the way, it sounds too much like that annoying jumpup Sub Focus crap