When the Machines Rock...my introduction and questions...

• INTRODUCTION:

Hello. My name is Chris Anderson. I live in far Western Kentucky (US). Born in 1968, I became musically aware in 1979 when I first heard Gary Numan's 'Cars'. I have been a staunch fan of his music ever since. I guess you could say my musical "influence" stems from the 80's, although I am a big Beatles fan, as well as Queen, Bluegrass (I dabble in the banjo), and lately Jazz, Zydeco, and Cajun tunes. Just got back from a Thomas Dolby concert in New Orleans, and I love his new style. It would seem my brother got the music gene, and has played professionally since the seventies. Even his son is involved in several support bands. Me, I started playing air-keyboards in the early 80's, and made the jump to steering wheel keyboards in about 1987, and consider myself a prodigy (I can pursuit drive and play with both hands :D ). Alas, my gift of the arts seems to lay in nature and celestial photography, not music.

I dabbled with some tiny/cheap synthesizers decades ago, but just didn't seem to have an ear for music. And, of course, I was pretty much just playing around. Banjo was easy, but I still felt like I had the mechanics down, but not the 'feel'.

RECENT EVENTS:

Well, I'm 44 now, have a special needs son that I am taking care of, and plan on retiring from a 20 year career with the State Police early next year in order to take care of him. My wife tragically died last November. In an effort to pass some time and start scratching things off my bucket list, I impulse-purchased a used Virus T1 61 key synth last week. It has yet to arrive. I bought some kind of "keyboards for dummies" book from Amazon, and have downloaded-to-read everything I can get on the model.