question about Live setup, switching from a part to the other on the fly and more

• Hello enlightened Access user community, I'm kinda new to the instrument, though I have quite a bit of experience with DAWs, plugin, synths and similar stuff. The TI series comes with the claim that the synth is just as practical as a plugin in a DAW, this imho isn't the case, but considering the quality of the sound engine I can well live with that in the studio.

Setting up things for playing live is a bit different; as soon as I start Ableton, the Virus goes dead; I couldn't find a way to play any sound from it without starting Virus Control, and the software itself isn't the most practical thing in a live scenario. But I can live with that, just I wonder; is there a way to convince the virus keyboard to respond to the part which is active on the synth at the moment? I'd keep some parts playing midi clips, while others are kept ready for being played live, while the remaining midi clips and samples are playing along.
    I'd even be happy if I could just play the synth while it is receiving the tempo and a bit of midi from Ableton without using the plugin at all, but this too seems unfeasible.
    Can it be done? Does anyone have experience about an optimal configuration for using a Virus with Ableton in a live performance? Thank you very much :)

• Hi there, I'm not sure if this will sort out your requirements exactly but I'll explain to you how I go about playing my Virus Polar live with my metal band I play with. This will also be assuming you're using a Polar or Keyboard..