This dirty kind of lead sound

• Hey guys,

sorry I cant describe it better in words, but I am looking to recreate something like the lead patch in this track:

Externer Inhalt soundcloud.com
    Inhalte von externen Seiten werden ohne Ihre Zustimmung nicht automatisch geladen und angezeigt.
    Durch die Aktivierung der externen Inhalte erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass personenbezogene Daten an Drittplattformen übermittelt werden. Mehr Informationen dazu haben wir in unserer Datenschutzerklärung zur Verfügung gestellt.

Any advices on how to get there? I am really new to sound design.

Best regards,
    Kevin

• Sound like a sawtooth with filter to me.
    Did some experiments, see attached patch file.

PS:

• IMO, the second patch which doesn't have any detune set for OSC 2 is closer to the sound in the example song
    • The ARP is set up so you can preview to sound with a part of the the Atron lead line, just activate the ARP and hold a F# in the middle octave.
    • Aftertouch and Mod Wheel control the detune of OSC 2 which allows you to modulate the sound like in the example song

Enjoy, and let me know what you think! :)

Dateien

Bass Player and Synthesist.
    Virus TI2 Darkstar | Virus TI2 Desktop | Sub 37 | Voyager RME | Machinedrum | Analog Four | Digitone | MPC Live | NI Maschine+
    Mac OS 13.5.1 (Ventura) | Cubase Pro 11.0 | Ableton Live 9.6 | Logic 10.4 | MainStage 3.4 | NI Komplete Ultimate 13 | RME Fireface UFX+

2 Mal editiert, zuletzt von ozon ()

• After I finally discovered I had to turn on the arp (I was wondering why the keyboard was transposed so high) my mind is blown. :D Good job on the patch and this use of the arp was an eye opener for me! Do you have a cheatsheet on how the velocity values in the arp map to notes (given arp input->transposition is at +64 like in your example)? Thank you very much, highly appreciate this!