Turning Access Virus KC into tabletop

• Hi everyone! I'm brand new to the forum. I've been playing with synths for almost 30 years now. Lots of years in cover bands, and I've been a part time film composer for about 20 years now as well. I have mainly been using software VI's for the past decade.

So I have always wanted a Virus, and maybe a year ago, when I really didn't have the time to appreciate it, I bought a used Virus KC on Reverb. I played with it a little, but mainly set it aside until some film projects I had going were all caught up (they still aren't, haha).

So just last week, I decided to have a go at learning this beast a bit better. I was programming some basic stuff that I always like to coax out of new machines, when I suddenly realized, the 2nd-to-highest Ab was not triggering from the keyboard, unless I hit it at full velocity. I am NOT a keyboard tech, but I also knew that for as old as this thing is, and where I live, I should at least investigate this myself. I found a few videos on YouTube about cleaning keybed contacts, so I opened it up, pulled the keybed, cleaned all the contacts, and reassembled it. I plugged it in, powered it on, and then found out that NONE of the keys worked, haha. Great. The next day, I open it again, check the three plugs I had to unplug and plugin. They all seemed fine, but I did it anyway. Now I put it back together and turn it on again. It all works! .......for about 5 minutes. Then I "think" I hear a pop in the audio, and all of a sudden the keybed is unresponsive again. It's still on, still looks normal, but no sound. I gave up on it for a few days and restarted experimenting today.