Beiträge von richard87

thanks for the reply ohmsweetohm, I appreciate it.

Would you happen to have the Filter Tutorial link to share ?

I recently bought myself a FFT analyser so ill get hands on and hopefully I can gain a visual idea of whats happening with the filters and learn from that too. Im sure its not so difficult , im just new to the 2 x filters.

You got messenger or anything ? would you be interested in getting in touch ? sounds like your experienced in the field and I would love to talk technical chit chat.

take it easy
    thanks

hey all,

Im on the learning curve with synthesis and have been a owner of TI2 Desktop for only a few weeks. (my first hardware synth).
    Im here now trying to gain better knowledge on the TI's Filter and how it relates in a practical manner to sound design.

I will start with the Filter / Series configuartion:
    So my first question is:

(Q1) By having the same Cutoff value on both filters does it turn into a 4 Pole Slope Filter ? or is it just a re-inforced 2 Pole ?
    (Q2) When the Cutoffs are "Linked" whats the point then of having a different cutoff value for both filters ?
    (Q3) Whats the point of "UN-linking" the cutoff between the filters ?
    (Q4) In regards to sound design what is the purpose of "Offset Filters" , would this only be useful to do things like create your own bandpass or bandstops ? or is there more to it then that ?

My guess answers are:

(A1) Re-inforce 2 Pole ?
    (A2) Having Cutoffs Linked and setting individual cutoff value's you can create your own bandpass / bandstop filter ?
    (A3) The point of un-linking the cutoff is so it reduces to a 2 Pole sweeping through ? (less filtered sound ?)
    (A4) Having a "un-linked" cutoff and offset filters you have individual control over both filter cutoffs , i don't understand what this is useful for , is it useful for more custom modulation options ? or other reasons aswell ?