Beiträge von Coronado

I'm no electrician, but I agree with Mystic38. My money would be on the power supply rack as the culprit. Probably the circuit is not completely broken, when switched off. Through ground or some other internal common connection. Using an extension cord for the Virus with an on/off switch should solve that problem.

I am not familiar with the Safire. The easiest procedure is to set up everything using the analog input first. When that works, you switch to S/PDIF in the Virus menu. If there's still no dice, you know there's something wrong with your digital setup.

When reading, I could not help but wonder why you would want to choose the Virus over the Korg as the audio receiver. Coincidentally I use a similar setup with the Korg M3 sometimes. It is so much easier to setup and control through the Korg. Being a workstation the Triton is designed to do just that. Never used a Triton myself, but I guess the overall structure is not that different from the M3. There will be a full fledged mixer, that gives you total control over your all audio channels,

Advantage of this setup is that you can single out one or more Korg instruments, route them to a separate output connected to the Virus input and process or atomize... Without affecting the rest of your mix.

Personally I prefer my audio device (Safire in this case) to be the master (to control the sample rate) in these setups. Most audio devices can be controlled easy through their control software. If you set the Virus to auto or external sync, you will never have to worry about that again. Even when you open a project with a different sample rate, the virus will automatically follow your audio device. The other way around (as described earlier) you might need to do that manually.