Beiträge von ozon

If connected to USB, the Virus TI turns into a MIDI (and Audio) interface and has to be used like that: In order to control devices hooked up to the MIDI Out port on the Virus, you have to route MIDI events to that port from within your software (e.g. Logic, Cubase, Ableton Live). I don't remember how it's called exactly, but the Virus provides two MIDI ports over USB: One is called "Synth" (to control the Virus) and the other I think "Midi" (which represents the MIDI Out port on the hardware).

So in order the play your other hardware from your Virus keyboard, you must route the Virus Synth In to the Virus Midi Out from your software.

You bought a great hardware synth, didn't you? And it still works as that, doesn't it?

Maybe it's wrong to use a DAW with extremely limited plugin support and than start bothering other manufactureres not supporting it. Maybe you should ask the Pro Tools developers to support VST.

I'm not an expert in FM (I'm still trying to really understand the difference between FM and pitch modulation:p) but it sounds like D5, i.e. the note where chaos is initiating, is sort of a cutoff point for FM to act much more fast...i'm not even sure if this this audio result is "correct" or if this is a software bug.

Thanks for checking. It just happened again yesterday while experimenting with a very simple FM sound. No Reverb involved. Naturally, FM will have undesirable results if too close at the sample rate. But there's clearly notes which are fine under some condition, and start to "telephone" under others. And yes, it's clearly connected to FM, that's the precondition.

IMO, since it happens at random, depending on circumstances, depending on settings of other (unrelated) sections of the synth it must be bug.

CC11 is designed to control the volume in a similar fashion to CC07. read the MIDI specs, alternative this one here:

http://www.sweetwater.com/insy…n-midi-volume-expression/