Posts by ChrisCabbage

I'm afraid my plate's full. I work full-time as a software engineer, have a family and am a councillor. Funding development of something is a good idea I think, but I'm afraid I have neither the time nor the expertise in MacOS development. Sorry!

Here's an interesting potential starting point for a slider component. I have a Waldorf Blofeld editor, which just uses this in-built slider for its GUI and it seems to work OK. This is for iOS, but the underlying stuff should be the same.

https://codewithchris.com/uislider-tutorial-ios-slider/

That tutorial above is a bit out-of-date for the latest Xcode, but I have a slider for values working with values 0 to 127. Cobbling together some of this might give me a starting point.

I do keep considering getting to grips with Mac/Windows development tools and writing a stand-alone editor. I did similar back in the day, on the Amiga. I have the Mystery Islands plug-in, but really doesn't sit well with me.

I've just never had time to properly get to grips with Xcode and Visual Studio, despite being a software engineer for decades. I've only ever worked on embedded / real-time systems though.

Anyone else interested in looking at this? Since I'm mostly on Mac, in my case - Xcode is probably my starting point.

The Midi APIs don't look too bad. The difficulty might be more in terms of GUI resources for knobs and sliders etc. How much would I/we want to use an off-the-shelf framework, and how much would I/we want to write something new. I've had a play around with JUCE, but there are some aspects which didn't really sit well with me.

Any good open-source starting points?

Heck - we could potentially even crowd-fund for an experienced developer to start the work for us! Something which could be community maintained.

One thing I haven't figured out how to do on VirusHC, which I hope someone can help with (latest v2 rc9), is how to get the plug-in to remember settings and patches.